Visa policy of Ukraine

Visa requirements for foreigners entering Ukraine

A conditional authorization provided by a competent authority of a country to a person who :

  • Is not a citizen of the country
  • Not a resident


  • Entering it’s territory
  • Stay there for a limited duration.

Different countries have different conditions typically attached to their Visas like-

  • Date of validity
  • Number of persons allowed

The Visa policy varies from country to country. It is subject to acquiring permission from the immigration authority of a country and can be revoked at any time. During short visits to some countries, Visa is not required.

passport-visa-ukraineGenerally a stamp endorsed into an applicant’s passport or any other document, precisely travel document. A traveler wishing to enter another country must apply for Visa well in advance, sometimes through mail or through immigration offices in person. Some countries even require their citizens to obtain exit visas for leaving that particular country.
Ukraine is no different, having its own unique visa policy governed by the foreign affairs department of the country. Visitors to Ukraine must obtain their respective visas from the diplomatic missions of the country unless they are from one of the visa exempt countries.


Citizens of the following countries do not require visa for an indefinite stay:

  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Georgia
  • Moldova
  • Uzbekistan

Following the country’s citizens do not require visa to limited stay, period of up to 90 or 180 days:

  • European Union
  • Andorra
  • Argentina
  • Brazil
  • Bosnia
  • Canada
  • Hong Kong
  • Israel
  • Brunei
  • Russia
  • Japan
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • South Korea
  • Turkey
  • Macedonia
  • United states
  • Vatican City
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Montenegro
  • Mongolia
  • Monaco
  • Tajikistan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan

Citizens of the following countries do not require producing invitational letter to procure visas:

  • Australia
  • Albania
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • New Zealand
  • Singapore
  • Guatemala

Citizens of the following countries require a visa on arrival:

  • Barbados
  • El Salvador
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Mauritius
  • Seychelles

Ukrainian bridesAll other countries require visa to enter Ukraine.
Grounds for refusal of visa for Ukraine:

  • Ensuring national security
  • Protection of health, wealth and legal rights of Ukrainian citizens
  • Submission of forged document by the applicant
  • Not having adequate travel insurance
  • Revocation on request of the applicant